Wednesday, September 29, 2010


Fifteen members of the class of 2011 have been named National Merit Scholarship semi-finalists. They took the Preliminary Scholastic Achievement Test last fall. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, which represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

They are now offered the chance to submit personal high-school transcripts and essays to qualify as National Merit Scholars. The scholarships are administered by the non-profit National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Hanover High's semi-finalists are: Jackson Blum, Jessica Buckey, Scott Collins, Clio Doyle, Mary Finlayson, Keegan Gantrish, Cameron Glouchevitch, Rebecca Haynes, Andrew Pillsbury, Christopher Stevens, Libby Tolman, Althea Valence, Jake van Leer, Scout Wallace and Claire Weaver.

The class of 2010 had eleven semi-finalists.